Dennis, Rhymes With Tennis


Karen and I spent a lovely week in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, many moons ago.  One of the highlights was tennis lessons that came with our stay and were provided by “Dennis, Rhymes With Tennis.”  He helped me a little and helped Karen quite a bit.  
 
Dennis had a group of young Jamaican boys, probably 12-16, that he was training, and one afternoon asked me if I’d hit with a couple of them, maybe play a few points to give them a different look.  I hit for a few minutes with 2 or 3 of them and then one of the boys asked if we could play a few games.  He was pretty good, but I was a 4.0 at the time and he got a bit frustrated.  At one point he tried a lob that I played easily right back to him to give him a chance to return it. We repeated that a couple of times and he hit his last shot into the net.  On the next point he hit a drop shot I got to easily and he tried another lob.  This time I blew it by him and Dennis shouted: “No lob-a de beeg mon!  Dee beeg mon reach to da moon!”  I got to laughing so hard I had to stop for some water.  
 
All in all, we had a great time with Dennis Rhymes With Tennis and his boys.  
3 thoughts on “Dennis, Rhymes With Tennis

Leave a Reply

